Honorary Patrons

Katharine Brisbane AM, Hon.Ph.D (UNSW, UWA) Chair of Currency House, Executive Director, was co-founder in 1971 of Currency Press Pty Ltd, the performing arts publishers and its publisher for 30 years. In 2001 she founded Currency House Inc. as a non-profit association to assert the value of the performing arts in public life. She was a theatre critic for 21 years, notably national critic of the Australian 1967–74 during a time of radical change; and has published extensively on the history of Australian theatre, including ‘Not Wrong, Just Different: Observations on the Rise of Contemporary Australian Theatre’ (2005) and ‘On drama’ in The Cambridge History of Australian Literature (ed. Peter Pierce, 2009). Over 40 years she has received many awards for service to the performing arts. In 1993 Brisbane was made a Member of the Order of Australia, ‘In recognition of service to Australian drama, particularly as co-founder of Currency Press’. She was a JC Williamson award winner for 2012.

Professor Geoffrey Bolton AO, MA, DPhil (Oxford), HonDUniv (Murdoch), FAHA, is senior scholar in residence at Murdoch University (Chancellor 2002-06), emeritus professor at Edith Cowan University and adjunct professor at Curtin University of Technology.  He is an extensively published historian who has undertaken visiting fellowships at Kent, Cambridge and Oxford universities.is an eminent Australian historian. He has been publishing works on Australian history since 1952, and has authored 13 books, most recently ‘Land of Vision and Mirage: Western Australia since 1826.’ His book, ‘Daphne Street’, published by Fremantle Press, describes his early surrounds, and is an attempt to write national history at the local level. He is still engaged in preparation of further works and has been a frequent contributor to radio in Western Australia and has done much to bring Western Australian history and socio-political development to life. He continues to research and write on Australian history, British Commonwealth history, and 18th and early 19th century British and Irish history, and has completed a biography of Sir Paul Hasluck. He also has experience in advising on museum policy. He currently acts as Chairperson of the Western Australian Maritime Museum’s Archaeology Advisory Committee. Professor Bolton is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society (London), Fellow of theAcademy of Social Sciences in Australia, Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities, and Fellow of the Royal Western Australian Historical Society. In 2005, Bolton was named Western Australia’s 2006 Australian of the Year.

Leave a Reply